Seafood Pasta with Parmesan Kisses

Standard

I was on the elliptical trainer watching the Food Network (of course)–Giada was on and she was cooking the most decadent Italian meal in her perfect seaside home. She looks perfect too–did I tell you that? I couldn’t help but ask myself, does pint-size Giada eat the food she makes? Her meals generally consist of butter, cream and sugar, yet she maintains a very svelte figure.

To be honest I have a feeling she dumps all the food she makes right in the trash at the Food Network right after she makes it. What a waste!

Here’s her recommendation for Valentines Day.

Valentine’s Day

Italian Fried Olives
Cheese Stuffed Dates Wrapped in Prosciutto
Roasted Beef Tenderloin with Red Pepper Salsa
Lobster Risotto
Roasted Tomatoes with Cheese and Herbs
Chocolate Honey Almond Tart with Almond Brittle

While these recipes look delicious, bathing suit season is coming and to be honest if I eat all of these items I will be wearing a one piece and a big white t-shirt on the beach (are you laughing yet–I hope so) :-]

But seriously, Italian food is delicious, and pasta is really delicious and pretty healthy for you if prepared right. My date night looks a little different from hers–still delicious, but more realistic regarding the calorie count.

This dish is very easy!! It’s called Seafood Pasta with Parmesan Kisses.

You will need….

Ingredients:

1 bag whole grain pasta (also brown rice pasta works too) (full of fiber and protein)
half pound of cooked shrimp

1/4 pound of raw calamari (baby octopus) if you are feeling adventurous
1/2 cup olive oil
rosemary
basil
1/4 cup light parmesan cheese
Italian parsley if you can find it
lemon (optional)
1/4 cup white wine
shallots
salt/pepper for taste

You DON’T need all of these ingredients. I tend to use whatever spices I have in front of me–but generally stick to groups. That means Rosemary, Basil, Herbs De Provence, Italian Parsley are for Italian flavored food (or omelets/ chicken). You don’t need the white wine, garlic or lemon but they add a lot of flavor.

Directions:

boil pasta for 8-10 minutes or until soft
carmelize shallots (saute) (skinned and chopped) in a pan with olive oil and garlic
add 1/4 cup white wine
add shrimp making sure to stir every 30 seconds
squeeze a lemon over the shrimp
add all finely chopped herbs
add salt and pepper to taste
when pasta is done drain the pasta over the sink (of course) and run cold water over the pasta (so it doesn’t stick)
pour seafood stir fry over the pasta and add a generous amount of the parmesan cheese
feel free to sprinkle with more herbs, salt and pepper

Enjoy with a glass of Pinot Noir or a white like Pinot Grigio

Anecdote:

One evening I was feeling really tired and a little grouchy. Jacob was generous enough to make dinner for us. He’s seen me use white wine sauce so he thought you were supposed to boil pasta in white wine. I couldn’t help but laugh at this endearing gesture. He really does try hard to make me happy. So this blog is dedicated to Jacob, always there for me when I need him, counter-intuitive white wine pasta and all.

Leave a Reply

