Simple Farmer’s Lunch

Standard

Some Thursdays–you just need a little breather away from the computer.

Today was one of those days so  Jacob and I took a stroll in the San Francisco sunshine to the Farmers market.

Lucky for us the Embarcadero market is open Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays–>Weekends are the busiest days so if you can sneak out on a weekday–I recommended you do so.

When we came home from the market–we live at the top of two steep streets we have to climb–we were famished. I wanted to make us something quick and flavorful. Since I’m not a fan of food rules, I made us breakfast for lunch.

I made Jacob a closed-face sandwich, and myself an open faced sandwich (I don’t need two pieces of bread to feel satisfied–one piece of  is just perfect).


This sandwich is super easy to prepare–it’s the fresh ingredients that make it…”off the hook.” AKA yummy.

We picked up some really fresh herbs at the farmer’s market including mint, oregano, basil, cilantro and rosemary. (If I could re-do the Paul Simon song–“Parsley, Sage, Rosemary & Thyme…” I would change some of his staple herbs…)

We also picked up mustard greens–these are a great sandwich lettuce because they have a really sharp kick to them. You can also cook them like kale in a pan.

I’m not a fan of diet bread–so for this dish I suggest you get good hearty whole wheat bread–sourdough is wonderful as well and low on the glycemix index–if you are counting.

Ingredients:

1 free range egg
fat free feta cheese
mustard (yellow or aoli)
herbs–basil/rosemary/cilantro if you can
tomato
avocado
salt/pepper (pinch)
pan spray (I like Trader Joe’s Olive Oil spray)
1/2 lemon
1 piece bread (whole wheat or sourdough)

This lunch is really easy to throw together. The hardest part is just frying the egg (not so hard right?) ;-]

Spray the pan and sprinkle in a judicious amount of basil, cilantro and rosemary (the fresher, the better). I also squeezed half a lemon into the pan for a fresh and delicious twist.

Crack the egg into the pan-heat is on medium–and fry the egg. If you like your egg more sunny-side up (drippy) you don’t need to turn the egg to fry both sides. Add the fat free feta (a drizzle).

Add all ingredients together on a piece of toasted whole wheat bread.

And enjoy!

Leave a Reply

