With Six Easy Steps Unlock the Guack

Standard

Guacamole is a crowd pleaser. In my family we affectionately refer to it as “Guack.”

It tastes delicious on chips, crackers, veggies or next to some fish.

Guacamole is incredibly easy to make. It’s great for sports games or next to a nice piece of salmon.

I actually took this recipe from my giant cookbook Larousse Gastronomique. Someone at a party told me told me I had to have this book, so I bought it. I listen to book recommendations! The book is actually more useful than Google–and I feel I am peeling back the pages of an old bible. It has every recipe under the sun–at least the at home chef’s sun.

Ingredients:

2 Avocados
1 onion (red)
1 lime
garlic salt (or regular kosher salt)
garlic
seedless tomatos
green chilli

Directions:

1. Finely chop 1/4 small onion and mix with 2 peeled, seeded and diced tomatoes.
2. Add seeded and finely chopped green chilli.
3. Mix in 1 finely chopped large garlic clove, the juice of 1/2 lime and a little grated zest from about a quarter of the lime.
4. Mash the flesh from 2 large ripe avocados in a mixing bowl.
5. Add the add the vegetable mixture.
6. Gradually stir in 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil (add salt to taste).

For my version I did not use olive oil and instead of using tomatoes and onions I just used a few tablespoons of pico de gallo I had in the house. A lime truly finishes off guack very nicely! I keep a jar of garlic in the house from Trader Joe’s so I don’t have to get my hands filthy chopping garlic. You might want to pick up a jar too.

The photo below you see my guack depicted next to some Cajun salmon, rice and a few pita chips. Delish!

Leave a Reply

