Sweet Cheese ‘N Peach Cinnamon Raisin Kugel

Standard

For me cooking has turned into a passion. I study what other chefs, bloggers, food personalities are doing and apply it to my own “practice.” While intuitive cooking is my strength, I am also good at making healthy food delicious. I am passionate about this because I can’t eat whatever I want, and I love to eat good food. I do not “diet” and do not believe dieting works. I do believe you can pick up tips and tricks to translate your favorite dishes into something you can eat without wondering what it did to your waste line or heart.

I am on a constant mission to learn how to enjoy delicious food that’s easy on the body.

I am envious of Hungry Girl Lisa Lillien. She translates traditionally unhealthy food into skinny jeans friendly creations easy on the palate, and easy to put on the plate.

I have been following her for a few years now since I bought her first book.

I was referred to her at a Weight Watchers meeting, and was hooked. I had been informally doing the same type of junk food transformations since I was a teenager–and here was a girl from the opposite coast–Long Island, New York doing the same thing.

Tonight I made her Sweet Cheese ‘N Peach Cinnamon Raisin Kugel (with Walnuts–my addition).

Kugel is a dish that can be made sweet or savory. It’s a Jewish dish generally served as a casserole or a pie, often made egg noodles or potatoes, though at times made of zucchini, apples, spinach, broccoli, cranberry, or sweet potato. I love sweet kugel (I have a sweet tooth) and love when my mom makes this with cottage cheese, cinnamon and raisins. It’s sweet, decadent Jewish comfort food.

Here is Hungry Girl’s version of Kugel.

You will need:

1 package House Foods Tofu Shirataki, Fettuccine Shape (You can get these at Whole Foods or Safeway. They have almost no calories)
1 large firm peach, cut into bite-size pieces
1/4 cup fat free liquid egg substitute
1/4 cup low fat cottage cheese (recipe calls for fat-free but I’m not a big fan of that)
2 tablespoon raisins (I toss in a handful of large multi-colored ones from trader joe’s)
2 tablespoon Splenda (I use 1 tablespoon Agave instead–it’s less chemicals)
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract (possibly my favorite tool in the kitchen)
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon (you can be more generous with this and the vanilla if you prefer)
dash salt
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Directions:

Heat oven to 425 degrees. Combine egg substitute, cream cheese, Agave (or Splenda), vanilla extract, cinnamon and salt. Stir until completely blended and free of lumps. Mix in cottage cheese and raisins, and set aside.

Rinse and drain Shirataki noodles well. Pay dry. Slice noodles into small pieces.

Over medium heat toss noodles in a pan until they are thoroughly dry and beginning to toughen (1 min or so). Transfer noodles to a mixing bowl and top with the peaches.

Combine cheese mixture with the noodles and peaches, and stir well. Top with a coat of chopped walnuts. Transfer it all to a medium-small baking dish and spray with non-stick spray.Place dish in oven and bake for 25-30 minutes or until firm.

Enjoy with dinner or even dessert. Below I plated the kugel with lemon and chive salmon and whole wheat quesadillas with light Mexican cheese. I served this salmon with brown grain mustard mixed with yellow mustard.

Leave a Reply

