Yogurt-Based Chocolate Mint Salad Dressing

Standard

I don’t eat salad because I feel like I have to. I eat salad because I find it to be glorious. Salad becomes glorious when you buy the food straight from the farmers. Everything pops. The tomatoes are sweet and juicy. The greens have a kick to them, especially mustard greens. For about five years now I have made my own salad dressings. It’s healthier and home-made salad dressing just tastes better. It’s very easy to do and usually I mix up an olive oil and black vinegar dressing with herbs and brown grain mustard.

Two weeks ago I discovered chocolate mint at the farmer’s market–it has an earthy flavor and smells like a peppermint patty. This herb is generally used in sweet teas or baked goods.

With the chocolate mint I have created my own version of a Tzatziki inspired dressing. It’s a yogurt based concoction and will dress any simple butter lettuce or mixed green salad very nicely.

Tzatziki is used as a sauce for gyros–it is made of strained yogurt (usually from sheep or goat milk) mixed with cucumbers, garlic, salt, usually olive oil, pepper, sometimes lemon juice and parsley, and sometimes dill or mint.Tzatziki is always served cold–and in Greece and Turkey the dish is usually served as an accompaniment, with bread (loaf or pita).*


A salad with butter lettuce, feta, mixed with some nutty greens from the farmer’s market and topped with my dressing

My tzatziki inspired dressing is quite simple. You will need.

1. 1/2 cup Greek fage yogurt (I use fat free because I’m a weird American)
2. Two-three tablespoons olive oil
3. A generous tablespoon of finely chopped (and washed) chocolate mint (or any mint will do)
4. One lemon
5. Pepper/salt to taste

Mix together in a jar and keep in the fridge. Don’t get the seeds from the lemon in your dressing!

*source

Leave a Reply

